Question Cards for Spinner Quiz Game – True of False

'Two Official Languages, One Strong Country' Celebrating Canada's Official Languages Day

(These cards will need to be printed in English on one side and French on the other.)

- If not using numbers, then need the letter or symbol code to identify each.
- 1. It is possible to work for the Canadian government even if you are not bilingual. T
- 2. French has been spoken in Canada for over 450 years. T
- 3. All Francophones in Canada live in Quebec. F
- 4. Quebec is the only officially bilingual province in Canada. F
- 5. Canada's capital city is Ottawa. Ottawa is an official bilingual city. T
- 6. Canada's National Flag Day is marked on February 15th every year. T
- 7. There are 10 provinces and 3 territories. All offer second language learning programs so that Canadian youth can learn the other official language. T
- 8. O Canada, the National Anthem, was originally written in French and later translated into English. T
- 9. Nunavut and the Northwest Territories accord official language status to French, English and several indigenous languages. T
- 10. Canadian currency is printed in English only. F
- 11. Canada's Official Languages Day is celebrated on the second Thursday of September every year. T
- 12. "Canada" originally comes from a French word. F
- 13. The original inhabitants of Canada were the English. F
- 14. The Supreme Court has the duty to ensure that every judge who hears a proceeding is able to understand the official language or languages chosen by the parties, without the assistance of an interpreter. T
- 15. Almost every Canadian can carry on a conversation in French. F
- **16**. The Government of Canada actively promotes both official languages in Canadian society with the *Official Languages Act*. T
- **17.** As part of the *Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms*, French- or English-speaking minorities in every province and territory, have a right to primary and secondary school instruction in their first language. T
- **18**. Canada, as well as the governments of Quebec, Ontario and New Brunswick, are members of the International Organisation of *La Francophonie*. T